About the ACPNF
List of Pediatric Neurosurgery Fellowship Programs
Link to Program Promotional Media
The Fellowship Match in Pediatric Neurosurgery
Considering Pediactric Neurosurgery
Application Process for ACPNF Fellowship Accreditation


ACPNF Home Page

Link to:

American Board Pediatric Neurological Surgeons

SF Match
Pediatric Neurosurgy Fellowship


Douglas L. Brockmeyer, MD
Pediatric Neurosurgery
University of Utah


Jodi Smith, MD, PhD
Pediatric Neurosurgery
Peyton Manning Children's Hospital
Goodman Campbell Brain and Spine


David Limbrick, MD, PhD
Pediatric Neurosurgery
Washington University


 Susan Durham, MD
Pediatric Neurosurgery 
Children's Hospital Los Angeles

Abhaya Kulkarni, MD, MSc, PhD, FRCSC
Pediatric Neurosurgery
SickKids Hospital Toronto

Amy Lee, MD
Pediatric Neurosurgery
Seattle Children's Hospital

 Ian F. Pollack, MD
Chief, Pediatric Neurosurgery 
Children's Hospital of Pittsburgh


ACPNF director terms and selection process

All ACPNF directors are ABPNS board-certified neurosurgeons. They serve 4-year terms that may be renewed once. When a director vacancy is anticipated, the leadership of the AANS/CNS Section of Pediatric Neurosurgery, as well as the leadership of the ASPN, will be asked to submit candidates for consideration. The ACPNF directors will then select a new director(s) from the list of candidates.

About the ACPNF

The Accreditation Council for Pediatric Neurosurgical Fellowships (ACPNF) was established in 1992 as an independent organization to establish the requirements for, and oversee fellowship training in, pediatric neurological surgery. The ACPNF was orginally composed of seven physicians who represent the disciplines of pediatric neurosurgery (5), child neurology (1), and pediatric intensive care medicine (1). This structure has since transitioned to a seven-member board comprised solely of pediatric neurosurgeons. Each member of the council has a four-year term limit, renewable for one additional term. New members are nominated and elected by vote of current council members. The ACPNF functions in a similar manner to the Residency Review Committee (RRC) for neurosurgical residency training programs.

Pediatric neurosurgery fellowship training programs are required to have a minimum of three pediatric neurosurgeons on the fellowship training faculty, and at least two of these, including the program director, must be board certified by the American Board of Pediatric Neurological Surgery (ABPNS). The second neurosurgeon must either have ABPNS certification or be board eligible and on the path to certification by the ABPNS.

Fellowship programs are inspected at least every five years or whenever there is a change in the program director. The program must maintain a minimum caseload of 400 cases/year and be affiliated with an approved neurosurgical residency training program. The facility where the fellowship is based must be able to provide services in child neurology, pediatric critical care, pediatric neuroradiology, pediatric anesthesia, pediatric surgery and neuropathology. Only one approved fellowship per institution is permitted.

Applications for new fellowships should be made by written application to the current secretary of the ACPNF by the proposed director of the new fellowship; the application should provide a case index of the facility's pediatric neurosurgical cases for the prior 12 months, a listing of current pediatric neurosurgical faculty, and documentation of a neurosurgical residency affiliation and institutional support for ancillary services as noted above. Payment of an application fee determined by the ACPNF and satisfactory completion of a site visit by a member of the ACPNF board is also required before the new program can be accredited.

For more information contact:
Douglas L. Brockmeyer, MD
ACPNF Chairman
Jodi Smith, MD, PhD
ACPNF Secretary

as of November 2021
ACPNF Home Page ACPNF Home Page